Those Missing Hours

Standard

Jessie looked up from the desk in her living room when she heard a knock on the door.  She pushed the glasses she only wore in the evenings or on lazy Saturdays- like today- up from the tip of her nose back to the bridge where they belonged, then rose to answer it.  She had the house to herself today, and had been enjoying the quiet.  She was surprised to hear anyone at the door, but it was a pleasant surprise to find her friend Lisa standing there.  “Well hey there!” she said as she let her in, greeting her friend with a hug.  As they finished their embrace, though, she didn’t quite let Lisa move away.  Instead she held her by the shoulders at arm’s length as she scanned her face. “What’s wrong?”

“Jade,” came the simply reply, and that coupled with the lost look on Lisa’s face was enough to make Jessie pull her right back in for another hug as she said sympathetically, “oh, honey.”

Not too much later, the women sat in the living room, next to each other on the couch and both sipping hot tea as Lisa explained that she had just come from getting her oil changed, where she had run in to her long lost student.

“I just don’t know what to do, Jessie.  I told her I wanted to catch up.  I even looked at her schedule; when I left I felt so positive.  But do I even have the right to force myself back into her life?”

“Of course you have the right.  You love the kid.”

“She’s 27 years old now.  Not exactly a kid.”

“She’s a 27 year old brat is what she is.  After all the grief she put you through and then leaving like that?  She’s lucky it wasn’t me that rolled up into that auto shop.”

Lisa rolled her eyes.  “And what exactly would you have done?”

“I would have given her a piece of my mind, for starters,” Jessie said, her face hardening.  She and Lisa had been friends for years, and she knew all about Jade, had even met her a few times.  The two women had both been starting new careers when they’d met, not too long before Jade had come along, actually.  Lisa was like family to Jessie and her sister, though Jade had been so stubborn about being a loner that Lisa had only ever met her in passing.  Still, she’d heard all about her– the trouble she caused, the progress she was making, and, eventually, the hurt she had caused when she’d disappeared.  “And that is just for starters.”

“Well what am I supposed to do now?  Take her for dinner?  Act like nothing happened?”

“Do what you should have done in the first place.”

Lisa scoffed this time.  “I can’t spank her.  She’s a grown woman.”

Jessie raised an eyebrow as she replied, “You sure can.  Ask Candace.  Ask Harper.”

Lisa blushed a little at this.  She had been around long enough to know how Jessie handled discipline, and was well aware that she hadn’t changed a single thing as the girls had entered adulthood.  “That’s different.  They’re yours.”

“And Jade’s not yours?”

“It’s not the same.”

“Bullshit.  If I just had Candace around, you might have a point, but I’ve got my own little delinquent.  Are you saying Harper isn’t mine?”

“Well no, but…”

“No buts.  I have had my share of misgivings about Jade– don’t get defensive,” Jessie said, raising her hands in a show of surrender, “but it doesn’t matter.  You love her and you want to help her.  So give her what she needs.”

“You make it sound so easy.”

“It is easy.”

“It isn’t!”

Jessie made a decision in a split-second, reaching out to grab her friend’s arm as she replied, “How about I give you a demonstration?”

Lisa was too surprised to even struggled as she suddenly found herself face-down across Jessie’s lap, but it didn’t take her long to recover and start trying to right herself. “Very funny, Jessie!  Now let me up!”

Jessie easily held her in place with an arm secured around her teacher-friend’s waist, despite the woman’s demands. “No, I don’t think I will.  Not just yet.”

“I am not a child!”

“No, but you are acting like one.  And I am tired of hearing ‘I can’t.’  It looks to me like I can.”  And with that, she brought her hand down hard on Lisa’s backside. “See?  Easy.”

“Let me up!”

“I will, when I am ready.  If you keep fighting, I’m going to take down your jeans.  Is that the direction you want this spanking to go?”

Lisa didn’t answer, but she stopped struggling.  Jessie was using that tone, one Lisa often used herself, that brooked no arguing.  For her part, Jessie wasted no time.  Now that Lisa was still, she used her free hand to pull her jeans taut as she layered spank after spank on the pretty round backside of her friend as she continued talking.  “I told you to go after her before and you didn’t listen. You are going to listen now.  You need her, and I’d bet money that she needs you, too.  So this time, you’re going to listen to me.  You’ll be there when she gets off work, just like you planned.  And you call her out for the shit she put you through.  And for whatever she’s been up to in the mean time, which I’m sure she’ll fill you in on.  You do what you’re good at.  You talk to her.  You love her.  You let her back in.”

And with that she pulled Lisa back up to sit next to her on the couch.  Lisa glared at her as she tilted her body over so she could rub her stinging backside.  “I can’t believe you just spanked me.”

“Believe it.”

“Alright.  Point made.  But if I’m going to spank her, I’m not leaving her jeans up.  That probably hurt your hand as much as it hurt my butt.”

Jessie grinned and shook her hand out dramatically.  “You’re probably right!  I suspect she’ll survive whatever you do to her.  Probably be all the better for it. I’d probably paddle her, myself.”

“Hm, I don’t have a paddle.  I bet I can figure something out.  I guess I need to go.  She’ll be getting off soon, and I want to get my thoughts together.”  The women stood, making their way toward the door.  They hugged again, Jessie looking all too pleased with herself as she let Lisa out.

“You’re awful when you’re right.  I don’t know how the girls stand it.”

“Oh me, either.  I actually feel bad for them occasionally.  Call me tomorrow.  Let me know how it goes.”

“Will do.  And… thanks.”

Jessie gave her a wink.  “Any time, darlin’.  Any time.”

One response »

Leave a Reply

